Express Computer
Home  »  eGov Watch  »  Odisha to have three more cyber police stations: DGP

Odisha to have three more cyber police stations: DGP

0 129
Read Article

With rise in number of cyber crimes across the state, the Odisha Police has decided to set up three more cyber police stations including one in the state capital, DGP R P Sharma said. At present there are four cyber police station in Odisha at Cuttack, Rourkela, Berhampur and Sambalpur.

“There has been increase in the cyber crime cases in the state. Three more cyber police stations will set at Bhubaneswar, Jeypore and Balasore,” Sharma said while addressing a three-day training programme of the cyber investigating officers here.

Official sources said while 120 cyber cases were registered in the state in 2013, the number increased to 868 in 2018.

The DGP said the number of investigating officers will also be increased. Sharma said while the state capital will get a new cyber crime police station within a month, Odisha Police has also been planning to set up a cybercrime laboratory for helping officers to undertake investigation using technology.

While petty offences like mobile thefts to be investigated at general police stations, the cyber police stations will deal with serious crimes like financial frauds and cyber crime involving women and children.

If you have an interesting article / experience / case study to share, please get in touch with us at [email protected]


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Register for the Digital Technology Senate Virtual Conclave: Pharma and Healthcare
Register Now!